Message from JamesAllen.com
As the largest privately held online retailers of diamonds and engagement rings, the idea behind JamesAllen.com is simple: Offer the world's most beautiful diamond engagement rings, coupled with the finest laboratory graded diamonds, all at an extraordinary value. Featured on Internet Retailer HOT 100 for 2011.

JamesAllen.com

5744 Reviews | 5038 Vouches 754482 Views
www.jamesallen.com
877-826-9866
6 East 45th Street
New York, NY 10017
Review Is this your business?
1-20 of 5719 reviews
Sort By:
  • Nate A.
    1

    Great work!

    Vouched Apr 18, 2015

    I found a picture of this ring online and called James Allen. They responded so quickly and made things run smoothly. What a great price for such a beautiful piece. I would recommend them to anyone. Thanks James Allen, Christina and the design team! You guys were great to work with!!!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • Greta D.
    1

    Perfect from beginning to end!

    Vouched Apr 18, 2015

    The entire JamesAllen experience exceeded all my diamond buying expectations by far. I had researched for months and I had searched a few big name websites and local jewelers, and JamesAllen by far had the best quality diamonds for the best price and the best part was you could see every single detail of each diamond. I spoke with the live chat specialists several times and they were honest and helpful about all my questions. They were giving honest answers and not just trying to sell diamonds to me. They helped me find my best match. When I ordered the diamond, I felt safe and confident buying over the phone and I was given very good updates as to receipt and shipping. I was so excited to see the diamond (Truehearts 1.59 ct, H, VS2) and when it arrived, I was blown away!!! It was even more beautiful than I could imagine and see on the computer screen. It is stunning! My local jeweler was also impressed! This diamond is a 10th year anniversary present from my husband and a dream come true! Thank you JamesAllen for making my dream a reality! I will be back!!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!

    Rarely write surveys

    Reviewed Apr 17, 2015

    First I want to state that I rarely write reviews. The experience I have had with JamesAllen (now on my 2nd purchase) has compelled me to write one. I researched every site online, went to every store, just spent tons of time, when looking for my wife's wedding ring. I finally decided on JamesAllen, after reading reviews and their return policy. I was very nervous, almost sick, about what I would receive. During this process, JamesAllen's customer service reps where fantastic. I actually ordered the wrong diamond initially. Once I realized this, I contacted JamesAllen, and they corrected the order with the diamond I intended to purchase. They took care of it and me. The ring arrived, and it was amazing. More beautiful then the pictures could do justice. That experience lead me to purchase another wedding band for our 1 year anniversary. Those of you reading this, read with confidence you will not be disappointed in your purchase, and you will be compelled to write your own review after your experience - I promes.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!

    Engagement Ring

    Reviewed Apr 17, 2015

    My experience was great! Ill come back for sure to get a wedding band! Service was amazing and very helpful!!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • D.B.
    1

    Awesome experience!!

    Reviewed Apr 17, 2015

    Excellent service. Very helpful chat operator stuff. Very speedy but trustful process,and the ring of the presentation in the box is elegant. My wife got me my wedding band from JamesAllen.com last year and we both loved it,so this time I decided to get her her wedding band from them. Thanks lots JamesAllen for the awesome wedding bands!! We recommend this website!!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • K.C.
    1

    Met my expectations and more

    Vouched Apr 17, 2015

    I had been hunting for weeks trying to find a ring for my fiance'. He wanted something very different and I finally found it at James Allen. Bernardo was kind enough to answer my questions and put my mind at ease regarding what I would need to do in the future if the ring needed to be sized. I appreciated his help and would recommend James Allen and Bernardo for a purchase of fine quality jewelry.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • J.A.
    1

    very happy customer

    Vouched Apr 16, 2015

    So much choice gave me the ability to get exactly what i wanted. I'm very happy with the result, and would absolutely recommend James Allen to anyone.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • Carri B.
    1

    Absolutely Beautiful

    Vouched Apr 15, 2015

    The selection is phenomenal and the quality is top-notch. I was impressed with the 360View so I decided to purchase a simple solitaire diamond ring last year. The sparkle is amazing but then I decided to upgrade the setting. The Customer Service Staff did everything possible to accommodate me, providing shipping instructions and all paperwork for Customs. I haven't a single complaint regarding JamesAllen. I am a Canadian customer and have already bought a second ring. My city doesn't have a FedEx office and, I must add, it has been a somewhat of a challenge to get my packages but, overall, everything was perfect when received.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • J.D.
    1

    Flawless in all aspects.

    Vouched Apr 15, 2015

    I originally looked at James Allen website, briefly, and did not see anything I liked. So I decided to go with Blue Nile, I had a ring made and ready to checkout when I thought about maybe taking a deeper look into James Allen. I am very glad I did. I wanted to compare the two sites and found www.diamonds.pro. where they reviewed both sites. In detail they went over the process for both and in the end James Allen came in on top.

    I went to the James Allen website and started from scratch. I already knew what to look for in a diamond in regards to the four c's so I picked my top three diamonds. The setting was my biggest concern. You can always upgrade the diamond later but the setting has to be amazing from the start. I browsed halo settings and came across the beautiful falling diamond halo setting. Using the model ring pictures I knew that it was the perfect setting. I choose it in platinum of course.

    Choosing the diamond was one of the easiest things I have ever done. Having educated myself on what I wanted I knew I was going to pick a lower grade color, ideal princess cut, and a higher clarity all in a slightly under one carat diamond. Refined my search and done, just like that I was able to find the diamonds in price range. I ended up getting a .90 carat, ideal cut, VVS2, color k diamond.

    With the setting and the color of the diamond I was a little worried that the diamond would appear too yellow against the platinum. However when it arrived it was perfect. Speaking of it took about a week and a half to make and unite the diamond and setting. I received an email stating that my ring had shipped and was given a tracking number. I of course then and there tracked my package. To my shock it had left at 1 in the afternoon from New York and was set to arrive at 10:30 in the morning the very next day. I actually laughed out loud thinking that there was no way it was going to get all the way across the country to Orange County in less than 24 hours. Well I was wrong; it actually showed up at 10 am.

    The packaging was nicer than anything I had scene. It could have fallen out of the cargo plane from the sky, hit a hard rocky surface and the box in the box, in the box, would have kept that diamond ring safe. I personally enjoy when the presentation goes above and beyond the expectations. Even though the girl gets the rings I having bought feel like I am being taken good care of and rest assured knowing I had purchased a quality product. Even if I felt that already by seeing that packaging and shipping service there is a card in the box explaining my lifetime warranty, you cannot go wrong with a purchase from James Allen.

    The big day came and everything went perfectly, she even said yes without seeing the ring, which made it even more exciting for her when she saw a ring that was way more beautiful than anything she had imagined. From the brilliant white shine of the platinum, to the glimmer and sparkle of the many diamonds, the ring is perfect.

    Everyone who has seen the ring has been asking me where I got it, and I have no issues with telling them where and raving about my absolutely perfect experience with this company. I have to thank everyone at James Allen for making one of the biggest purchases in life a pleasure to partake in and the outcome to exceed my expectations. The fiancé loves her ring and I love the whole experience being stress free.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!

    Reviewed Apr 15, 2015

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • M.P.
    1

    The best place to buy an engagement ring

    Vouched Apr 15, 2015

    Where to begin. I was just like every other guy preparing to propose--I knew I wanted to get a good engagement ring but had no idea where to start looking. Conventional wisdom lead me to the start my search at the traditional brick and mortar shops--Jared, Kay, Zales, and Tiffany. However, before I went into one of these stores, I figured that I should spend a little time on the internet to do some research about what to look for. Through some useful websites, (diamond.pro in particular) I educated myself on the 4 Cs and common pitfalls. The most common pitfall, I quickly learned, was to walk into a brick and mortar shop because they use pressure sales tactics to rip you off. Then I did a little homework about online retailers and Blue Nile and James Allen emerged as the clear choices. From searching their websites, I found that the biggest difference between the two online retailers was that the James Allen website allowed you to see the actual diamond in all its 20x rotating glory! Blue Nile, although boasting a larger inventory, did not provide any picture of the diamond (further, the larger inventory really isn't that big advantage because, to the average consumer, whether a retailer has around 60K diamonds as is the case for James Allen, or 200K diamonds as is the case for Blue Nile, makes little difference--you just need 1). These pictures are crucial because not all imperfections are equal (ie. a SI1 that's black and in the middle of the diamond is clearly worse than a small, colorless chip on the side). Also, I read reviews explaining that James Allen's packaging and presentation were superior to Blue Nile.

    My actual experience with James Allen blew my already high expectations away. I picked a setting from their website and a diamond which I thought would be a good fit and within my budget. When I called customer support to review my order and ask some questions, the representative told me that the diamond I picked may not be the best fit for the setting. She located a much better diamond which was actually cheaper than the one I had picked. She was also extremely knowledgeable and helped me decide an initial ring size (the company providing a free resize if needed). Best of all, she did not use any pressure sales tactics and was simply a real person on the other side of the phone.

    I just received the ring in the mail and was not disappointed. The box is large and includes a pull out drawer complete w/ appraisal, receipt, GIA cert., and warranty information (including free lifetime maintenance). Very professional and impressive. Obviously, the ring looks flawless.

    Can't say enough about how great this company truly is. On a final note, while some may suspect a company rep. is behind such a positive review, I assure you that I am not, and in fact, am often a tough critic of companies w/ poor customer service.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • Matt A.
    1

    Thanks

    Vouched Apr 15, 2015

    I vouch for Kat and all of the James Allen staff. Great experience. Thanks Kat!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • S.R.
    1

    LOVE !

    Vouched Apr 15, 2015

    Wow! Wow! I feel as though the picture of our engagement rings (my partner and I) do not do the rings any justice. We thought they were beautiful when we saw them on the site but as soon as we saw them in person we liked them even more. The service was also very good! Loved loved loved it!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • David G.
    1

    Great Experience

    Reviewed Apr 14, 2015

    I'm very happy with my diamond purchase from James Allen. It was a little nerve-racking ordering a high ticket item such as a diamond on line. In the end I found it to be a very nice experience. There's no sales pressure or time line. You can easily browse through the diamond inventory at your leisure, compare and pick the exact diamond you like. Finding the right size, color and clarity diamond at my price point took a little time but I think I nailed it. Compared to my local mall jewelry store I saved thousands. After selecting the right stone it took about a week to get it so that required a little patients but well worth the wait.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • Ashley S.
    1

    Great Job!

    Reviewed Apr 14, 2015

    I was very pleased with my purchase from James Allen! My fiance purchased my engagement ring and we loved James Allen and the quality of jewelry so much that we purchased all our wedding bands from here. Great quality and better prices then the stores in the mall! Great work!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • David H.
    1

    Terrible product and terrible customer service.

    Reviewed Apr 14, 2015

    The engagement ring I ordered was set crooked. When I contacted customer service I was told it would take two weeks to repair (which was longer than it took to make the ring in the first place). When I complained, I was told it could be done in less than two weeks. After I sent the ring, I was again told two weeks and that I needed to send additional documentation to receive a refund. I will never do business with James Allen again. Every time I am contacted by a different person and every time I am told something inconsistent with what I was told previously.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • Toan N.
    1
    • smiley

    Returning Customer

    Vouched Apr 14, 2015

    James Allen service was excellent. I have bought my Fiancee engagement rind here and I've returned to buy my wedding ring. She bought her wedding rind elsewhere because the deal she got from her employer was unbeatable. I will definitely return for future ring purchases.

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • Timothy Blalock
    1

    Best investment!

    Vouched Apr 14, 2015

    First time ring buyer - of any kind, so I had to do my homework. I read a lot of reviews and being in the advertising business, I'm always skeptical if they're legit or paid for write-ups. Having the intuitive feeling that most were authentic, I checked JamesAllen's website out and was impressed with how the web devs and photographers took the time and created the site so you can get very personal with each individual diamond.

    After much research to decide what diamond I needed to buy to please My Lady, I was pretty confident of my purchase without taking a physical look at it first. Once it arrived, I was amazed at the quality and was on high-end to find the right moment to propose.

    Being a guy, it's hard for me to understand the deep symbolic value but when I proposed and she saw the ring, her emotions combined with a sensory overload was evidence that what I bought from JamesAllen was genuinely badass!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • Jamaal J.
    1

    Beautiful Diamond

    Vouched Apr 13, 2015

    I found that JamesAllen.com provided proffesional and efficient service in my experieces in purchasing there beatiful diamond!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!
  • B.L.
    1

    Will buy again!

    Vouched Apr 12, 2015

    Bought a diamond and the setting ring. The service from start to finish at JA was fantastic. Making such an expensive purchase online is always daunting but the staff was always considerate and offered well thought-out solutions for all my questions. Will recommend JA to all my friends!

    This review is...
    Saved. Thanks!